A Choral Chamber Ensemble
Kerry Krebill
Artistic Director


2021-2022 SEASON


2021-2022 SEASON

St. Peter's Episcopal Cathedral

and Musikanten Montana
Kerry Krebill, Artistic Director


Dietrich Buxtehude
Membra Jesu nostri
7 meditations for the Crucifixion

Tuesday, April 12 at 7 PM
St. Peter's Episcopal Cathedral, Helena


Suggested donation $25 at the door

(Reserved seating for Musikanten Angel donors $100+)

Musikanten Montana continues its 18th season of concerts in Helena with a performance of Dietrich Buxtehude’s Membra Jesu nostri on Tuesday, April 12, a part of St. Peter’s Episcopal Cathedral’s Holy Week offerings.  The chamber chorus will be joined by favorite players from the annual Montana Early Music Festival, including super-star Baroque violinist Carrie Krause.


Buxtehude, a celebrated German organist a generation before J.S. Bach, composed this 7-cantata Passion meditation focusing on seven parts of Christ’s body as he hung on the cross. (“Membra Jesu nostri” can be translated as “The Limbs of our Jesus.”)  Each meditation is introduced with a short instrumental sonata, followed by a choral setting of a Biblical text relating to that part of the Saviour’s body. Then follow 3 verses -- set as solos, duets or trios -- of strophic poetry from a work said to be by the medieval mystic St. Bernard of Clairvaux.  At the end of each cantata, the choir repeats its opening Bible verse. The final meditation anticipates the resurrection with a joyful Amen.


The work is performed without intermission, and is approximately an hour in length.  Admission is free, with suggested donation at the door.  Reserved seating will be available for Musikanten Angels (annual donors of $100 and above).  For more information, call (406) 442-5175.

Musikanten Montana
Memorial Concert for All Souls

7:30 PM Wednesday, November 3, 2021

Maurice Duruflé’s beloved Requiem
Heinrich Schütz “Selig sind die Toten"

Kerry Krebill, conductor
Sarah Whitlatch, mezzo soprano soloist
Robert Tudor,​ baritone soloist
Michael Harrison, cantor
Dr. Wendy Yuen, organ


Musikanten begins its 18th season of performances in Helena with its annual All Souls concert on Wednesday, November 3, in the Cathedral of St. Helena.  This year’s memorial concert, with candles lighted for those church members, family and friends who have died in the past year, will feature the 20th century French composer Maurice Duruflé’s beloved Requiem, his Gregorian chant-based setting of the traditional Latin Mass for the dead.


To open the concert, Artistic Director Kerry Krebill will conduct the choir in the Heinrich Schütz motet “Selig sind die Toten” – Blessed are they who die in the Lord.  Cantor Michael Harrison will then chant the names of those for whom the candles are lighted, followed by a short period of silence for meditation and prayer, and the Requiem.


Duruflé, a renowned organist, composed three versions of his Requiem, one of which is for solo organ – the organ alone accompanying the choir, playing all the parts of the full orchestra version.  Dr. Wendy Yuen, the new music director at St. Mary’s Catholic Community, is the organ virtuoso in this performance.  Vocal soloists are mezzo soprano Sarah Whitlatch and baritone Robert Tudor.


The concert is performed without intermission, and the congregation is requested to depart in silence, remembering those who have gone before us.


The one performance is at 7:30 pm at the Cathedral of St. Helena.  All the performers will be masked, fully vaccinated, and singing from behind the altar.  The congregation is encouraged to wear masks (available at the door) and leave space in the pews between families.


Admission is free, with a suggested donation at the door. To have a candle lighted and name listed in the memorial program, please email the name you would like listed to musikantenmt@aol.com by October 27.

Performance for the Feast of All Souls
Musikanten Advent Performance
Kerry at the Quarry.jpeg

Musikanten Montana
All Souls 2020

In loving memory

Allan Abbott

Alvin A. Abbott

Cora Abbott

Michiko Ajiki

Charlie Atkins

William “Bill” Ballinger

Lois “Kay” Barnes

Ian Bateen

James Brook

Kent Brown

Kevin Byram

Murdo Campbell

Don Clark

Agnes Cole

Fred Collins II

Don Cullen

Ruth Cullen

Kent Elliott

Gene Fenderson

Jana Susan Fisher

George Floyd

Christian Frazza

Princess Maria-Anna Galitzine

Joseph Norbert Garrity

Noelle Walker Gifreda

Ruth Bader Ginsburg

Carol Goddard

Robert H. Haas

Dian Haines

Howard E. Haines, Sr.

Martha Hampson

Wayne Hampton

David Hansen

Ada Harlan

The Right Rev. Barbara Harris

Tim Henderson

Patricia “Pat” Orcutt Horton

Mark Jankowski

Charles Jezick

Katherine Johnson

Betty Jones

Brian Kahn

Tom Keith

Margaret Lehman

Rep. John Robert Lewis

John Liesmann

Maggie Long

Merry Lunde

Sanne McCarthy

Edith McLean

Terrence McNally

Jim Murray

Ed Noonan

Albert Nystrand

Bob Nystrand

Doris Nystrand

Gladys Nystrand

Mary Nystrand

Ben O’Neal

Shirley Palmer

Mora Skari Payne

Denise Pennington

Tony Pettet

Dave Phillips

Katherine Beliz Pither

Elaine Power

June Pratt

John Prine

Paul Rebillot

Beverly Rhodes

Herbert Schafer

Elmer Schafer

Jan Schiedermayer

Betty Scow

Sam Shepherd

Andrew Sterling

Jane Stevenson

Marcia Stoll

India Supera

Brian Swingley

Laura Tinsley

Wayne Wardell

Nicole Watson

James Weaver

Helen Wemple

Byron Wieder

May Light Eternal Shine Upon Them

Remembering Musikanten Montana All Souls 2020